A Passage I Love 

I recently received an e-mail from a friend who works the site: http://missionary-blogs.com This is a great place to see how folks are serving the Lord around the globe. He asked me, as well as others, to post a blog with our favorite scripture passage and why it is a favorite. So here goes: 
My favorite passage is in my favorite epistle, Philippians. There is so much practical application intertwined with foundations of faith in this short letter I could ramble on for days. . . but . . . I won’t. The passage I reference most often is: 

“Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:13-14 NASB)

To state it simply, without expanding this into a sermonette, this passage demonstrates the Christian life in this world, and a perspective which is essential to seeking God’s direction and following faithfully.

Too often we burden ourselves with our past, in particular, our past mistakes, sins, errors, whatever adjective/noun you would like to apply. It makes us lame, limping through life unable to run or even walk the Christian life. Paul had plenty to feel guilty about. But, he knew, and we know, God forgives so we can move forward.

Our vision in this earthly life should be on the goal, seeking God, seeking His direction, seeking His purposes. It’s there our strength is renewed and we can mount up on wings like an eagle and bound about the mountains like we have hinds feet on high places. (I wish I could say I invented those cool images!)

We need not walk though life backwards like a dodo bird. If you ever tried walking backwards, without turning around to see where you are going, you soon found yourself tripping on something and crashing to the ground. Instead we need to turn, face forward, and strain toward the goal, the prize, the upward call, eternal life with God!

Sometimes I walk backwards . . . and trip. Other times I face forward, see my savior beckoning me to the goal, and run with abandon into His loving arms of grace.

Papa Chick

Leave a comment

Filed under Missions

Leave a Reply

