A Word in Due Season (057)

. . . so shall my word be that goes forth out of my mouth: it shall not return to me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it. (Isaiah 55:11 WEB)

In the course of dealing with mail Beth sent out a large number of pamphlets from Guam. These small pieces of scripture and teaching wander about the world reminding us that God’s word does not return void but accomplishes His purposes. Here is a letter Beth received in response to one of these pamphlets.

Dear Friends because of Christ,

It has taken me a long time to write back to you. It was because I’ve been on a long journey on a ship going round the Solomon Island Seas doing fisheries work. Yes friends, there is one thing I do mostly want to share with you. During my journey I received the letter you sent and the booklet. One night as I was about to go to sleep I took the booklet and started to read.

As I read something unusual happened to me. I broke down and cried. I was crying because I was the same as the man in the booklet mocking Jesus sometimes and didn’t believe in Him.  As I was crying one of my workmates came into my room! I showed him the book and after looking at the parts that stuck with me most he said to me, “Today is the day of salvation, your sadness will turn to gladness. From that very night on I’ve become somebody new, a believer.

Now I am a new being, a life which is new to me.  Jesus has changed my life and has made an example of howa young lad like me leaves his rubbish ways and becomes a new being. And now I am starting to witness to my friends, I will let you know if Christ will win some soul through me.

Sometimes we feel our work falls into the cracks between the keys of life. A tract here and there appears to be just paper to fill up someone’s waste can. That special word of encouragement invokes no response. Sometimes we are tempted to think, “Why bother?”

Still, often we find God uses these words, these efforts, these struggles to touch a soul for eternity. God works in His time, not ours. He makes our faithfulness useful in touching other lives, even when we don’t see the immediate results. We must not grow tired in doing good knowing that God will accomplish his purposes if we remain faithful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Missions

Leave a Reply

